Sucker for the High Street

I thought I’d mix it up a little bit for this blog post and talk about some of the beauty buys I have recently made. I wouldn’t normally consider writing an entire blog dedicated to just beauty products, because frankly I’m not a beauty blogger in the slightest! However, I have fallen in love with my recent purchases and I just really wanted to share them with you. So if you’re interested in what products have got me so excited carry on reading. And if not? Well I guess we can part ways here.

IMG_0399I am a massive advocate of high street make up brands. I think this is because I am somebody who likes to get a lot for their money, rather than pay a lot for one or two items. (I’m probably the same across the board when it comes to spending) So high street brands are really up my street! I am though, more than aware that these cheaper brands do not necessarily always offer good products. And I have often fallen victim to the marketing teams and purchased products that are completely terrible. However, these little bumps in the high street make-up road only emphasise how great products are when they are good, and when they can match up to the high end brands! Also imagine if this wasn’t the case, and I was completely addicted to high end products. Being a student I would never survive! Therefore, I am always happy to spend a little time researching the best dupes for particular highly regarded products.IMG_0390Pictured above are the latest products I have added to my make-up collection. And before I go any further I am just going to say now, they are all brilliant! No regrets here. Half of these products are Nyx and half are Sleek make-up. Nyx is a brand which has become very successful over the last 15 or so years. An interesting fact? On research I found out that the company is actually named after the Greek Goddess who ruled the night and symbolised beauty and power. (unfortunately we don’t turn into this Goddess when wearing the make-up) Nyx is a company which offers high-quality, professional make-up at an accessible price. That’s right gals, an accessible price. My favourite concept! So after becoming extremely successful in the U.S the brand has come to the UK. A lot of their products were already available on the Boots website, so you may have already snatched up some great items. But if you haven’t, you now have the chance to buy them in store, as Boots has recently launched their range in stores across the UK. Yay!

IMG_0381I have heard a lot of great things about the Nyx brand. In particular I have heard that they do great dupes for the Kylie Lip Kits. I have been pining after the Dolce K kit that Kylie has produced, but being me, I haven’t been able to bring myself to spend all that money. So as you can imagine, I was extremely excited when I read so many people mentioning that Nyx’s Soft Matte Lip Creams act as Kylie dupes, as they are only £5.50 each. I purchased Dubai and Abu Dhabi from this collection. Dubai is a brown with, I’d say, an underlying reddy tone, which I find is a very dramatic colour. Abu Dhabi on the other hand is much lighter and a little bit subtler. You can see by my swatches (so beauty blogger-esque) they are two very rich colours; however, I do find that the Dubai requires two or three coats before you get its true colour. I was always hesitant about purchasing anything that was matte for my lips. I IMG_0457.JPGthink this was only because I’m not somebody who wears lipstick or lip gloss too often, so I was concerned that a matte lip would be very drying and look terrible after like an hour. I took the plunge though, and I am glad that I did! Although these are matte they are so creamy and moisturising that I knew my worries would not be a problem. So I definitely recommend these lip creams if you are like me and are a little bit more worried about taking the plunge. On top of that though, I tested these out to the extreme, on a day where I was spending hours in the car, being overfed by grandparents, spending time at the seaside etc etc. And the result? I think over the entire day (like 06:00-23:00) I only reapplied twice. The colour was extremely lasting, which I was majorly happy about because I hate worrying about reapplying all the time! I am definitely going to be buying some more colours from the collection. I’m just hoping I don’t get too distracted by choosing a city rather than the colour itself!

(I’m really not sure why i’m so white in that second picture, but you get the idea)

IMG_0439Next up from Nyx I decided to purchase the Dark Eye Concealer. Working nights, I thought this could be the perfect solution to the horrible bags under my eyes. The concealer itself has a ‘subtle hint of orange’ which is meant to counteract the purple dark circles. This I think is fantastic, as I am one of those people that have purchased a complete set of ‘colour correcting’ concealers. However, I have no idea which colours work for what unless I am in the mood or even have the time to google answers. This Nyx product for me cuts out a lot of that time. I know exactly what it’s for, I know exactly where it goes,IMG_0441 and it also has natural skin-toned pigments to provide the coverage I need. My favourite thing about this concealer though has to be the inclusion of coconut oil. Now if you haven’t joined the coconut bandwagon, get on it now! Coconut products are a god send. And in this concealer it works to moisturise your skin further as well as working to prevent any caking.

Lastly from Nyx I bought the Studio Finishing Powder in Translucent. Now I don’t really have anything to compare this product to. Finishing Powder is not something which I have ever really used and to be honest I’m not sure I ever will use it religiously. However, I thought I would purchase this and see if it made a difference to my life. For only £8 I IMG_0437.JPGthought it would be worth a shot. If you look on the Boots website the description boasts that this is ‘a miracle in a jar’. Now I’m not sure I would completely agree with that, it is a big statement after all, but I do believe it set my foundation pretty well. Also the website claims that ‘it leaves your skin looking radiant and luminous’, this I definitely do not agree with. I felt as if I was left with a more matte finish than luminous. In fact, I think I prefer using Maybelline’s Super Stay 24hr Setting Spray (£6.99) when I am aiming for a radiant, luminous, even dewy look. Howver, i will continue using it when i am looking to create a matte base!

Next up are my Sleek Make-Up products. Sleek is said to be one of the fastest growing brands on the high street, and I can see why. I’ve been a fan of their products since I first found out about them a couple of years ago. I have always found their products to be highly pigmented and long lasting at a great price. What more could you want? So it was a no brainer that I would purchase some more of their products on this little shop. I have been on the lookout for some new brushes for a while now. Again, I’m not somebody who lovesIMG_0433 the idea of spending a lot of money. I am therefore quick to jump in and try out some of the cheaper alternatives available. So when I came across Sleek’s 7 Piece Brush Set for only £12.99 I became extremely intrigued. I mean come on, 7 brushes for £12.99, is that even legal? It was an easy decision for me, I was going to try them. Now if you’re somebody who likes their brushes to be super soft, like I find The Real Techniques ones are, then maybe these aren’t for you. As I found on comparison they felt a lot more stereo-typically synthetic than the Techniques brushes I own. The foundation brush for example I found was quite hard so much so that I decided I wouldn’t even try it out for its intended purpose. (I ain’t wasting no foundation!) However not all the brushes hold such negativity. The four smaller brushes, named as being for eye shadow, eye contour, eyeliner/brow and lip are all extremely good for their money. They pick up products extremely well, and are brilliant at their jobs. I have even used one of these for applying contour and concealer. In my opinion it is definitely worth overlooking the idea of their being one or two bad brushes in the set as the rest are extremely good. Plus, they come in a little carry case, which is super handy.

IMG_0435I also purchased Sleek’s Cream Contour Kit in Light. Since I have been using contour products I have always veered more towards the powder palettes. However, after extensive research, as always, I decided I really wanted to give cream a go. I have had my eye on the Iconic Palettes for so long, but again as I have said a couple of times I hate spending the money. So naturally I decided to give a high street version a chance. I was struggling between purchasing this palette by Sleek or the Nyx Highlight & Contour Pro Palette. More than anything I think what swayed it for me was the price, Sleek charged £10.99 and Nyx charged £18.00. Working on a budget currently I decided I would see what Sleek, the cheaper of the two had to offer. Overall I think this palette is extremely good. It has a range of ‘light’ andIMG_0445.JPG ‘dark’ shades in order to achieve the best contour. (don’t worry if you don’t know where to put anything the kit comes with instructions) I’ve used this kit for a number of days now and I am really enjoying it. I feel I will contour using the cream versions of the contour kits for the near future. As I feel in Summer it’s nice to have a more luminous, dewy finish to your makeup. Whereas in Winter I am more drawn towards makeup looks that are more matte in appearance. The only negative I have about this palette, and it’s hardly the palettes fault, is that the ‘light’ version is too light if I was to be more tan. Therefore, I don’t feel it would achieve the look I would be after if I were to use it for a night out where I would more than likely be wearing fake tan.

IMG_0449Lastly from Sleek I purchased (and I say purchase loosely, it was actually free in a 3 for 2 offer) an i-Divine Mineral Based Eyeshadow Palette in ‘Enchanted Forest’. I have never actually bought any of the sleek eyeshadow palettes as I’m pretty basic in what shadow I wear. However, I thought it would be rude not to try something new since boots were doing the 3 for 2 offer. I have to say though; I am not disappointed. The colours are absolutely divine, the shadows are so pigmented, and they blend so well together. I’m just dying to find somewhere where I can create a look to try them out properly. As you can see from the swatches most of the colours are shimmery but a couple are matte.IMG_0447.JPG Therefore, it is a palette that would enable you to create some fantastic looks. So if all Sleek’s palettes are this good, for £8.99 I will definitely be purchasing some more!

So that is your lot! I hope this post opens your eyes to some great products because remember, we don’t have to go broke for beauty! Let me know if you have any other suggestions for me to try, I am always interested in trying out some new products!

Until next time…

x

IMG_0477

Leave a Reply

