Progress Being Made

In one of my previous post I told you about how I had acquired and started my summer job. I am now two weeks in and I must say going strong. I can’t say it’s been a difficult two weeks; the summer camp has been blessed with pretty great kids.  I have had an incident free start to the job, touch wood the next four weeks go just as well. The only challenge for myself has been the routine. Working night shifts every other day can take its toll on your body, mind and most importantly your sleeping pattern. I think though, I am now getting used to it. I am learning how to work it and how to keep myself sane in the process. I’ve even come to the conclusion that having this kind of job, and working at night has been extremely beneficial for me. I have found myself with hours of time which I need to remain concentrated, and in turn awake. Therefore, this has provided me with the perfect opportunity to complete work, read books, work on my blog, catch up on t.v and even research future endeavors. So you can see, I have been an extremely busy night owl. IMG_0104

On a more serious note, the role itself has put me in situations which I would not have necessarily been in had I not had the job. This role has seen me interact with other employees and employers in a more equal role. Past jobs and work experience I’ve had I have always been seen as ‘below’ those I worked for. In this job though I am viewed as more of an equal, and I believe this is due to the responsibility given to me as a night time supervisor. A lot of my interactions at this job are with the international students, thus I am often in a position where I am the only native English speaker. Therefore, I am in situations where communicating can sometimes get tricky. This is certainly not a common situation for me in everyday life, though it is something I am enjoying getting to grips with. On top of this I am in a situation where I am in charge of a group of 12-17 year olds. Now, I have no younger family members so I have little experience of being authoritative towards young kids. (even more so international children who can’t always understand me!) This has probably been the biggest adjustment for me. I’ll get days when the children are being a little bit more mischievous and I just want to laugh, and honestly? Sometimes I do. But that is only because I can remember being their age and doing pretty much the same things as them. (I mean c’mon, I’m not THAT much older than them) I have thus been thrust into a situation where I need to take on that ‘adult’, ‘mature’ and ‘authoritative’ role. Although I have struggled with this to begin with I am enjoying the adjustment to it and discovering that I do actually have that person inside of me. Who’d have thought?! I’m now excited to see where my head will be at in another two weeks and even another after that, when I finish working for the language school. It’ll be interesting to see how I cope after the full six weeks of working here, and how I progress over this time.

IMG_0103

Now, one of my previous blog posts I discussed my ‘Summer Goals’ and I thought now, being over half way through my summer, I’d update you lovely bunch on my progress. One of my biggest goals was to get back into the routine of drinking more water. This might seem arbitrary, but when I’m at university I do always forget to drink water. Over the few weeks I have been glugging it back by the litres. Although the first week or so was horrendous, with always needing to go to the bathroom and the initial breakout from toxins being flushed out, I now feel great. I feel a million times better in myself and my skin is a lot better too. (although there’s a long way to go until it’s perfect *sad face*) So I am now a massive advocate in the drink more water policy. It’s such an easy thing to do to achieve great results. So I advise everybody to drink, drink, drink! And if you need any more persuading just check out what these websites say: ONE | TWO | THREE

Since I have started on a high, I am going to continue on with it, with another successfully fulfilled summer goal. I have made it my mission to make use of Joe Wicks’ first Lean in 15 book, and I can happily say I have done just that. I was originally planning to do an entire post on just this little feat of mine, however, I lost all the photographs I wanted to include and the idea just went down the drain. I do still want to say though the book has given me inspiration for some great recipes and has got me trying things I would not normally think to attempt. All the recipes are also really easy to follow and for the majority of it the ingredients are really very basic. More often than not Wicks uses stuff you would have in your cupboards at home anyway. So it is a perfect cook book to get your hands on, as there is no need to be traipsing through foreign supermarkets and travelling long distances to acquire the ingredients you need. Which I think anybody would agree is perfect! My ‘go to’s’ in the book seem to be the vegetable and fish fritters, perfect for breakfast, or a snack, the turkey and spring onion burgers using sesame oil (My new favourite to cook with, it smells A-mazing!). Also I’d say the meatballs and the cannelloni. That being said though, all the recipes I have tried in the book have turned out great. Even my mum, my human guinea pig has loved the finished products!

Some more of my other goals were to go to the beach, to go on more walks and to read more. These I have done, but I wouldn’t really say I have thrived at. I went to the beach a couple of weekends ago, although it wasn’t the standard ‘beach day’. It was more just an alternative place to walk the dog. Since we’re lucky here in the UK no place is much more than two hours from a beach. Perks of being a small island, right? I love going to the beach so even just a walk along the sand was enough for me. I have to say though I am always shocked when I go to the beach up north and it’s really pretty. For some reason I always associate Britain’s pretty, worth a visit kind of beaches with down south, but that really is not the case. Formby near the city of Liverpool is now one of my favourite beaches. I’d definitely recommend it for those like me who love their beaches surrounded by towering sand dunesIMG_0016.JPGNext was to go on more walks: I have been on a few, including the one to the beach. This plan kind of sat on the back burner though as I started work and the weather got progressively worse. I did however manage to go on another walk along the canal. We were blessed with sunshine for just one day so it would have been rude not to make the most of it. It’s days like that that make you appreciate living in the countryside a little bit more. It’s easy to forget how open and beautiful the countryside is when you’re in the city for most of the year. And you never know, the release of Pokemon Go might just be the catalyst that gets me out there more. (It would have been wrong for me to do a blog post and not mention this phenomenon just once). Lastly reading is again something which I hoped I’d do a lot more of but in reality I have completed only a few novels. I guess this is just me comparing the amount of reading I managed to accomplish last summer, where I’d read on average two books a week. Therefore, I am pretty disappointment in the amount I have read or really haven’t read. But I am hoping I am just getting off to a slow start this year. So watch this space, you could soon be bombarded with book reviews!IMG_0197.JPG

I think that brings us pretty much up to date with life thus far. It’s been a slow couple of weeks, but I always knew July was going to be like this. It is August and September I am looking forward to now. I have a lot coming up during those months, so keep your eyes peeled for future posts to see what I get up to!

Until next time…

x

Leave a Reply

