I’m a Working Woman

It seems the idea of me blogging on a regular basis has yet to pick up pace. So I apologise on the delay between my last post and this I am posting now. I just need to get into the groove on things, eventually I’ll be writing far too often and just simply annoying everyone. Anyway, enough of me and my failure to keep organised and on with the post…

Me_Before_You_(film)The last couple of weeks have been relatively basic and adventure free. I have been to see ‘Me Before You’ (amazing btw, I would definitely recommend that you catch a showing sometime in the future), I have caught up with some friends, I have spent a day lounging in the sun ‘watching’ cricket and I have also discovered how much I enjoy using lists of threes. (Kinda ruined that one there!) The biggest thing to come out of the last couple of weeks though is my new, yet temporary, job. This has been a long time coming, it feels like years since I first applied. Although in reality only two or three months have passed. The point is though, I am now a working woman.

World_Ocean_Current.jaWhere am I working? And what is my job? I hear you ask. Well, I am a night time supervisor for a language school. Unexpected, right? Tell me about it, it was not the job I set out to acquire but I can say I am glad I decided to apply and proceed through the process. If anything it is going to be a unique addition to my CV and an interesting six weeks ahead.

I won’t lie, I was not 100% certain in what my role would exactly entail, so my first day was a bit odd if not slightly chaotic. That being said though, it was not just my first day, it was the first day for the first group of international students, for the staff and also for the school itself. This was because this is the first year the school has had a camp based in this particular location. Thus, understandably there was a lot for everybody involved to get their head around.

No sleepNow since I arrived with only the basic understanding of what I would be doing between the hours of 22:00 and 06:00 I was very much unprepared. By unprepared I mean I had no plan of how I was to fill up my time. The basic role of my job is to ensure the students are in their rooms, behaving/sleeping and kept safe. Therefore apart from the routine patrols around the accommodation block I found myself having a lot of time on my hands. It sounds easy, right? Nope, not at all. Throughout all hours you need to be continuously alert and aware of your surroundings. Pretty obviously this means no sleeping. Which for someone like myself, who likes their sleep, it is pretty difficult. I’ll be completely honest, on that first night I didn’t think I was going to make it. I started hitting the wall at around half three, I had to keep myself busy to push past that onset of drowsiness. Luckily though, I got through it.

After the experience of my first night I decided I would turn up better prepared for day two. Before leaving for work on that day I packed a bag full of all of the essentials. These included my laptop for writing, watching Netflix and general internet browsing. Food, because over 9 hours working and travel time is pretty lengthy. Green tea and a mug, because well how could anybody do all nighters without tea? An extension cord, as the only plug sockets are on the completely wrong side of the room. (handy). A book, pretty self-explanatory. Pro Plus for an extra kick of caffeine when I start to hit the wall. Lastly, I included my phone charger, in case of a ‘my phones died’ emergency. With all of this I felt far more confident for the night ahead, knowing there will always be something to occupy my mind. Suffice to say, day two went by a lot quicker and I am a lot more confident in my ability to make it through the next six weeks without dying from the nocturnal lifestyle.Time-goes-fast

Although I have only just begun on this 6 week journey I would definitely advise people to think more outside the box when it comes to applying for jobs. Whether you need a temporary job over the summer, or a bit of weekly pocket money it is definitely worthwhile to consider roles you have never previously thought about. Why go straight to the usual waiting on, or bar tending? I can’t begin to tell you the amount of people that have questioned my choice of job this summer. All I can see is a unique way to earn some extra money, an experience which is teaching me to spend and enjoy time alone, and practical improvement to my ability to concentrate for extended periods of time. All three which are going to be extremely beneficial. So if you take anything from this short blog update, take this:

Try something different. Challenge yourself. Dare to be different.

 

Until next time…

x

Leave a Reply

